Coffee Alternative

Standard
Coffee Alternative

A few months ago I realized that wonderful drink from the gods was not so wonderful on my sensitive system. Yes, my beloved coffee was causing more pain than joy so I sought out a replacement. Since caffeine* was not an issue, I looked into roasted cacao nibs. Cacao is the raw, unprocessed version of cocoa from which we get chocolate. I had a bag of raw nibs and after a quick look online, I found a recipe that lead to me ditching coffee for good. Now I currently do not have a french press and I’m told that it’s the “only way” to make this brew. Screw that. I use my regular old coffee pot and it does the trick. I will warn you though, if you use a reusable filter, clean it while it’s hot. Once the ground cacao cools, it’s a bitch to get off your filter!

Roasted Cacao Nibs
Preheat your oven to 350°F. Spread an even layer of raw cacao nibs on a baking sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes. (FYI, your kitchen will smell like chocolate cake. If you live with others, you may be forced to bake them a cake later as an apology for “tricking them into thinking you were baking a cake.” Or maybe that’s just my family…) Once they are done, cool completely and store in an airtight container.

Coffee alternativeCacao Coffee
2 tbsp cooled roasted nibs
4-8 oz water, depending on how strong you like it

Grind your nibs in a coffee grinder. Pulse the grinder as the heat will melt down the nibs. Either brew for 10 minutes in a french press, or if you are like me, add to the coffee pot (select a strong brew setting if possible) and brew. I tend to use 4 oz of water to 2 tablespoons of ground nibs but I’ve made up to 8 oz with it. It’s all personal preference. After that, fix it just like you would a cup of java the same size. You can add flavored syrups but I find flavored creamers too overpowering in this (maybe pressed nibs will work better for them, but I honestly don’t know). Sip & enjoy!

*Now some sites and companies claim that cacao is caffeine free however, I have also read that there is caffeine in them. If you are sensitive to caffeine, don’t drink this past 2 PM. For me, I can down a cup and go right to bed but I could do that with coffee as well.

Until next time, blessed be!

Comments are closed.