Inner Magic

Standard

I love reading about witchcraft. Which herbs are best used for spells, cooking and healing. Which stones are used for meditation, spiritual connection and strengthening your magic. But I find my best magic comes from within. That inner magic. Intuition goes a long way in my Book of Shadows. I wasn’t raised in the craft, I haven’t had formal training, and I miss more Sabbathes than I remember (honestly I only remember the ones with the changing of the seasons since I garden). I suck at being a traditional witch. 

But what I’m good at, where my talents lie, is trusting my intuition to know which herbs to add to my kitchen witchery, which salt on my shelf strengthens my protection spells and when my Goddess is whispering to me. I don’t buy stones and crystals based on what a little info card tells me, I buy what I’m drawn to that day. My spells work for me because I create them for me, not for anyone else. I don’t understand why people buy spells and tools from big publishers or even simple websites. You don’t need them. Your best magic comes from within.

I didn’t mean to ramble so much and I know my thoughts are probably not very mainstream. But as a solitary witch, it doesn’t really matter if anyone else feels this way. But I will say this- if you are new to the craft and feel overwhelmed, just take some time to get in touch with your inner witch and trust in your intuition. The rest will come.

Ramble over and Blessed Be.

6 responses

  1. Actually this is very insightful, and really helpful to those new to the Craft. Newbies, and we were all there, are so concerned about doing everything by “the book.” The problem is, there really isn’t actually a book. There are lots of books giving opinions and interpretations, but there is no one definitive book. Intuition should play a big role, and if you can’t find that, well, perhaps you need to be on a spiritual path that has one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I’m still new in the sense it’s only been about 2 years since I started calling myself a witch, but it’s always been part of me. I’ve just always known what to do or how to help. I guess that’s also why I rely so much on instinct. After 32 years of life, it never lets me down.

      Thanks again for your insight and thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Witchcraft Intuition – Hippie Cottage Witch

    • I’m glad this resonated with you! And I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels this way. Being a solitary, sometimes I wonder how far off I am in my beliefs

      Liked by 1 person

      • There are many good books and information to be found on line, but we must take that and use it to find our path. It’s a bit difficult sometimes not being raised around people with knowledge of the way. We figure it out though.

        Liked by 1 person